The pupose of this website is to warn you that www.crushlink.com is a scam which collects email addresses and sells them to spammers. If you ever receive an invitation from CrushLink asking you to type in e-mail addresses of people who you know, do not do this. The e-mail addresses you type in will be sold to spammers, increasing the amount of spam they receive.

CrushLink has a privacy policy which states:

We do not share our mailing list with any other company, person or entity.
Do not be fooled - I will describe why.

A long time ago I received a message from crushlink.com informing me that someone "had a crush on me". I later found out that my email address was typed into crushlink.com by a friend who was trying to track down the source of a similar message sent to him by typing in the email address of everyone he knew. He never did find the source of the message.

I began to suspect that crushlink.com was a scam for harvesting email addresses to be sold to spammers. I set up a new email address, fake-crushee at rhythm.cx, and entered this email address into crushlink's database as a crush like you normally would and did not use this email address for anything else at all. Anyone who sent email here would have obtained the address from Crushlink.

For months I had not received any spam at all to this fake-crushee at rhythm.cx email address. But as of this writing, my suspicions about cruslink selling email addresses to spammers was confirmed by the following email sent to fake-crushee at rhythm.cx on April 27th 2002:

From bounce@jennyslist.com  Sat Apr 27 00:41:03 2002
Return-Path: 
Received: from speedy.jennyslist.com ([216.40.244.69])
	by infinity.rhythm.cx (8.11.6/8.11.2) with SMTP id g3R4f2V18542
	for ; Sat, 27 Apr 2002 00:41:02 -0400
Received: (qmail 30190 invoked by uid 0); 27 Apr 2002 00:59:59 -0000
Date: 27 Apr 2002 00:59:59 -0000
Message-ID: <20020427005959.30189.qmail@speedy.jennyslist.com>
To: fake-crushee at rhythm.cx
From: Jenny 
Subject: re: JennysList - Still Interested?
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
 boundary="------------0AD116E438EE2EFDDFF7FFA7"
Status: RO
Content-Length: 3672
Lines: 86


--------------0AD116E438EE2EFDDFF7FFA7
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit


Hey! Jenny here again... You're getting this email because either you or someone you know expressed interest in my newsletter. Just to make sure that someone else didn't sign you up, you need to confirm that you'd like to receive it...

Go here to confirm: http://www.jennyslist.com/validate.html?email=fake-crushee
at rhythm.cx&accesscode=48b9d00b075393c77db16430c8b42238

If you have received the newsletter in error, I am very, very sorry.  Sometimes people sign up by mistake, or their friends add them without really knowing if they want it (that's why I send this verification email).  If you would like to stop receiving it at anytime, you can visit http://www.jennyslist.com/block.html.  Just enter your email address, and you're off.

Thanks, and have a great day!!!
 
xoxoxoxo Jenny



UNSUBSCRIBE: http://www.jennyslist.com/block.html

So, think twice before dealing with crushlink. Their privacy policy is a lie, who knows what else on their site could be.

Questions? Comments? Similar experiences? Email crushlinkspam at s dot rhythm dot cx.


Note: All email addresses on this page are printed as "user at host.domain" in place of "user@host.domain" to protect them from web spam harvesters.